Cell phones and R-E-S-P-E-C-T

Seriously, I would be lost without my cell phone! My husband changed our Verizon account so I’d have UNLIMITED TEXTING. He is a WISE man!!

BUT……..urghhhhh!!!! Sometimes, people drive me a little nuts!!

There I was this morning, in my local Weight Watchers meeting, when a woman from 4 rows behind me started speaking. I think she was discussing carbohydrates and this unflattering desire to eat too much, bringing us all to Weight Watchers in the first place. I’m sure she had great words of wisdom to share.

The woman in front of me got a phone call on her cell, her LOUD cell.

SHEESH!!  Really I could not hear the other lady anymore. Good thing my life doesn’t depend on it….but my hearing does.

PLEASE PUT YOUR CELL PHONES ON VIBRATE IN PUBLIC PLACES!!!
On my way out, I did mention this to the woman who weighed me.

One thought on “Cell phones and R-E-S-P-E-C-T

  1. After reviewing this post, this morning I realized I needed to add something.
    I really, should have spoken up about this a little better. Its so easy, (isn’t it?), to think, “Why bother? I don’t want to make it a big deal. After all, it doesn’t happen that often…yada, yada, right?” But we have such an invisible handicap. And, unless people have a hearing loss or know someone with a hearing loss, they just don’t understand our needs. Next time I weigh in, I will clearly state, “Would you please post a sign, or have your leaders remind people that cell phones should be on vibrate?” I’ll let them know, politely, the reason is that a have a moderate to severe hearing loss, and since no-one uses microphones here it is hard enough to hear people. Yeah, I’ll probably explain what happened too. I can state my needs with grace, in an effort to educate them, as well as communicating my needs. After all many baby boomers are growing older, and there just might be others who are loosing their hearing also.

Leave a Reply

