Hortina

May I introduce you to my world of craziness?

I admit I talk to inanimate objects, and yes, I have been known to name some of them.

For those of you who think this is much too goofy, I won’t be offended if you’d rather view something else now….maybe …Heaven Sent Gems? http://heavensentgems.wordpress.com/

For the rest of you, yes, I named my hearing aid. I’m just now posting about this. Now that I’m 50+ years, I’m willing to take risks, including the risk that you’ll stop reading if you find out how goofy I can be. Please remember I teach Pre-K children and many of us, in my school,  can get downright silly!!

So, when it was time for me to go pick up the new hearing aid, from work, I wanted to celebrate with my 4 year olds. They have a way of making celebrations very lively!!

I decided to buy them all ice-cream sandwiches, but I wanted something additional.

Since I my previous hearing aid had a name, I needed a new name for this one. Combining these ideas, I developed an arts and crafts activity for my students. I had them glue elephant ears, trunks and faces on a piece of construction paper. The elephant, of course, was Horton from Dr Seuss’ book, Horton Hears a Who. Once that was all glued together, they added a tiny square of paper with a self portrait on it. That way they could explain that Horton (Ms Barb) could now hear, Who? ME!! “See my picture, mommy? She can hear ME now!!” (Especially those little teeny tiny Asian voices I love so much!)

Hence, the name Hortina was born. Wanna see her picture? with a new found friend?

GG finds Hortina. Eeeks! Hey, give that back, GF!

A photo finish! (No, they don’t play together often, or at all!)

Leave a Reply

