Situations I never put myself in …..

We all know that some women avoid going to certain places by themselves, especially at night, for obvious reasons.

As a hearing impaired person, there are some things I just never do because I know I would have a difficult time hearing anyone in that environment.

Yesterday, a dear friend came to pick me up to give me a ride to a restaurant, because my son had my car for the day. Eight of us were getting together for tea and conversation, and in my mind, to celebrate the start of summer. Yeah, I love getting together with the gals!

As she pulled up next to me, the first thing I noticed were both front windows were down and the sunroof was wide open. Hey, I have a sunroof on my car too, and I completely understand how delightful it is to enjoy fresh air on a day when the temperature is in the low 80’s. Just lovely, especially when I am by myself, and I don’t want to listen to a CD or anything on the radio.

When I sat down in the passenger seat and we said our ‘Hellos,” I heard another voice, coming from an electronic device. It was her GPS, and it was moderately loud. As we start driving away, I can tell my ears will be competing with the sound of traffic, the rush of wind outside the car windows, the GPS, and my girlfriend’s voice. “Be patient,” I tell myself, “You can manage. Just remember to speak up about your needs if you have trouble hearing her. She’s a nice person, and she’ll understand.”

Then, she pulls out her cell phone and begins talking to a woman who is behind us a few miles, also driving to the same restaurant. She was giving her directions as the GPS was giving us directions. Now I realize, “This is normal for folks with good hearing, but I would never do it!”

You understand, its no-one’s fault, nor was I upset in anyway. I just want family members, and friends, of the hearing impaired to understand that some situations like that are a tad difficult for those of us that have trouble hearing.

When she got off the phone, I told her I was taking notes for my bog, and we shared a good giggle over the whole thing. It was absolutely what she needed to do, especially since the GPS had a blast taking us around Robin’s barn! And, on the way back home, she did ask if it would help to shut the windows and turn on the AC, and we had a good chat.

See, I told you she was understanding!!

Lesson? I need to keep speaking up for my needs!!

Leave a Reply

